1. Market Research
  2. > Pharmaceutical Market Trends

Regulatory Trends in the US Pharma/Biotech Industry : Efficiency of the FDA Review Process Expedites Access to Care

  • February 2015
  • 37 pages
  • Frost & Sullivan
Report ID: 2757356

Summary

Table of Contents

Key Findings

•In terms of the number of new molecular entities (NME) approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 2014 marked a record year in the pharma/biotech industry, with the highest number of NMEs approved in the last decade. In terms of highest number of filings, regulatory submissions were at their peak in 2014, tied with 2011 and 2012.
•The number of orphan drugs entering the US market grew by x % in 2014, compared to 2013, demonstrating that companies continue to target this market with its large unmet needs, fewer competitors, and a potentially higher return on investment.
•The efficiency of the US FDA’s review of drug submissions continues to improve as a result of its expedited review designations: fast track, breakthrough, priority review, and accelerated approval.
•The number of approved NMEs in the United States that was granted first-class designation increased significantly in 2014, compared to previous years, demonstrating that pharma and biotech companies are focusing on launching novel mechanism of actions (MOA) and are focusing on targeted therapies to treat medical conditions and specific populations.
•Because of its benefits of convenience and overall safety, oral administration continues to be the dominant mode of administration for drugs approved in the United States.
•The lack of a clear biosimilar regulatory pathway in the US market continues; no biosimilars were approved in the United States in 2014.

Most Approved NMEs Evaluated as an Expedited Review

Key Takeaway: While the percentage of expedited reviews declined between 2013 and 2014, the overall number increased, showing that companies are continuing to innovate and fulfill large unmet needs.

•Fast track is assigned to drugs with the potential to fulfill an unmet need. These drugs are reviewed in an expedited fashion by being part of a rolling review process and increased level of communication between the FDA and the manufacturer.
•Breakthrough is assigned to drugs showing early evidence that there is significant improvement, compared to alternative therapies.
•Priority review is assigned to drugs with the potential to fulfill a significant unmet medical need. In this instance, the drug review process can end as soon as x months, compared to the standard x months.
•Accelerated approval is assigned to drugs with the potential to treat a life threatening condition.
•Compared to x out of 27 ( x %) in 2013, an impressive x out of x ( x %) approved NMEs were assigned at least 1 of 4 expedited regulatory review designations in 2014, compared to the standard review.

Get Industry Insights. Simply.

  • Latest reports & slideshows with insights from top research analysts
  • 60 Million searchable statistics with tables, figures & datasets
  • More than 25,000 trusted sources
  • Single User License — provides access to the report by one individual.
  • Department License — allows you to share the report with up to 5 users
  • Site License — allows the report to be shared amongst all employees in a defined country
  • Corporate License — allows for complete access, globally.

Veronica helps you find the right report:

Testimonials

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

We were impressed with the support that ReportLinker’s research specialists’ team provided. The report we purchased was useful and provided exactly what we want.

Category Manager at
Ikea

ReportLinker gave access to reliable and useful data while avoiding dispersing resources and spending too much time on unnecessary research.

Executive Director at
PwC Advisory

The customer service was fast, responsive, and 100% professional in all my dealings (...) If we have more research needs, I'll certainly prioritize working with ReportLinker!

Scott Griffith

Vice President Marketing at
Maurice Sporting Goods

The research specialist provided prompt, helpful instructions for accessing ReportLinker's product. He also followed up to make sure everything went smoothly and to ensure an easy transition to the next stage of my research

Jessica P Huffman

Research Associate at
American Transportation Research Institute

Excellent customer service. Very responsive and fast.

Director, Corporate Strategy at
Ingredion

I reached out to ReportLinker for a detailed market study on the Air Treatment industry. The quality of the report, the research specialist’s willingness to solve my queries exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend ReportLinker for in-depth industry information.

Mariana Mendoza

Global Platform Senior Manager at
Whirlpool Corporation

Thanks! I like what you've provided and will certainly come back if I need to do further research works.

Bee Hin Png

CEO at
LDR Pte Ltd

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

Purchase Reports From Reputable Market Research Publishers

Pharmaceutical Hot Melt Extrusion Market - Global Industry Analysis, Size, Share, Growth, Trends, and Forecast 2016 - 2024

  • $ 5795
  • Industry report
  • February 2017
  • by Transparency Market Research

Global Pharmaceutical Hot Melt Extrusion Market: Overview This report provides forecast and analysis of the pharmaceutical hot melt extrusion market on the global and regional levels. It provides historical ...

High Content Screening Market by Product (Cell Imaging & Analysis System, Flow Cytometry, Consumable, Software, Service) Application (Primary & Secondary Screening, Toxicity Studies, Target Identification & Validation), End User - Global Forecast to 2022

  • $ 5650
  • Industry report
  • April 2017
  • by MarketsandMarkets

The global high-content screening (HCS) market is projected to reach USD 909.0 million by 2022 at a CAGR of 10.3% during the forecast period. The factors expected to drive the growth of the market are ...

Pulmonary/ Respiratory Drug Delivery Market by Formulation, Device Type, Canister, End User, Applications - Forecasts to 2021

  • $ 5650
  • Industry report
  • February 2017
  • by MarketsandMarkets

The global pulmonary drug delivery market is projected to reach USD 52.37 billion by 2021 from USD 36.10 billion in 2016, at a CAGR of 6.5% during the forecast period. Increasing preference of pulmonary ...

Social Media In Pharma

March 2017 $ 5000

Download Unlimited Documents from Trusted Public Sources

Therapy Market in the US

  • June 2017
    114 pages
  • Therapy  

    Hormone  

    Musculoskeletal...  

  • United States  

View report >

Therapy Market in the US - Forecast

  • June 2017
    4 pages
  • Therapy  

  • United States  

    World  

    North America  

View report >

Therapy Market and Digestive System Disorder Statistics in the US - Forecast

  • June 2017
    4 pages
  • Therapy  

    Digestive Syste...  

    Infectious Dise...  

  • United States  

    World  

    North America  

View report >

Related Market Segments :

Pharmaceutical

ref:plp2015

Reportlinker.com © Copyright 2017. All rights reserved.

ReportLinker simplifies how Analysts and Decision Makers get industry data for their business.