1. Market Research
  2. > Healthcare Market Trends

Review of the Regulation of Cosmetic Interventions - Implications for Stakeholders in the Industry

  • March 2014
  • 42 pages
  • Frost & Sullivan
Report ID: 2051528

Summary

Table of Contents

The After-effects of Poly Implant Prothèse (PIP) Scandal is Threatening and Long

Executive Summary

•The Poly Implant Prothèse (PIP) implant scandal, which came to light in 2010, instigated the government of the United Kingdom to launch several reviews with the aim of ensuring patient safety in the large private cosmetic interventions industry.
•Recognising the need to regulate devices, practitioners, and service providers—in addition to the incorporation or structuring of a governing body specific to these requirements—the Secretary of State for Health called for a review to be led by Sir Bruce Keogh.
•This review was announced in January 2012 and was completed in April 2013.
•The outcomes of this review included:
oTightening of regulations around distribution of implants and dermal fillers
oCertification and inspection of service providers
oImplementation of a national implant registry
oCertifications for practitioners among others recommendations
•The announcement and implementation of these regulations are expected to negatively impact patient volumes in late 2013 to 2014, eventually stabilising over a year.
•The impact on service providers and suppliers in the next xx to xxyears includes the consolidation of market participants aiding Tier I market participants (both suppliers and service providers), and the possible elimination of smaller market participants in service provision and supply.
•Due to the expected increase in the pricing of supplies and additional costs of compliance, profit margins per intervention are expected to decline for Tier I service providers.
•However, the expected shift in patient volumes from Tier II and Tier III to Tier I will supplement this decrease in profit margins.
•Continued growth is forecasted for Tier I service providers and suppliers in the cosmetic interventions industry in the United Kingdom (UK) over the next xx years, at the expense of smaller market participants who will be unable to cope with the costs of compliance.

Overview

The PIP implants were manufactured by the French company Poly Implant Prothèse, SA, which was founded in 1991, was liquidated in 2011. In 2000, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) stopped the sales of these implants due to quality reasons. From 2001, the company manufactured implants with industrial grade silicone, and sold these implants under the Rofil-M brand to Latin America and Europe. The implants were prone to rupture, leakage, and even contributed to a reported increased incidence of cancer. A lower grade silicone was used to make implants fraudulently which was deemed as a violation of regulatory approval.
In 2010, the French regulatory authorities notified the Medicine and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) of the inconsistencies in implant production, and recommended removal of all PIP implants. The French government recommended that all PIP implant users have their implants removed or replaced in December 2011, a process which was funded by the country’s public healthcare system. Following this, the PIP implant issue received significant media attention. The Department of Health (DH) in the United Kingdom reviewed the cases and concluded that there was no causal link between the fraudulent implants and breast cancer. However, an outline was provided on the help that would be provided to women using the implants. Service providers were asked to offer the removal or replacement of implants, or follow-up examinations, if patients chose not to have them removed. The recall was mirrored by most countries including Germany, Italy, Sweden, Netherlands, Finland, Estonia, Czech Republic, and many countries in Latin and South America.

Get Industry Insights. Simply.

  • Latest reports & slideshows with insights from top research analysts
  • 60 Million searchable statistics with tables, figures & datasets
  • More than 25,000 trusted sources
  • Single User License — provides access to the report by one individual.
  • Department License — allows you to share the report with up to 5 users
  • Site License — allows the report to be shared amongst all employees in a defined country
  • Corporate License — allows for complete access, globally.

Ahmad helps you find the right report:

Testimonials

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

We were impressed with the support that ReportLinker’s research specialists’ team provided. The report we purchased was useful and provided exactly what we want.

Category Manager at
Ikea

ReportLinker gave access to reliable and useful data while avoiding dispersing resources and spending too much time on unnecessary research.

Executive Director at
PwC Advisory

The customer service was fast, responsive, and 100% professional in all my dealings (...) If we have more research needs, I'll certainly prioritize working with ReportLinker!

Scott Griffith

Vice President Marketing at
Maurice Sporting Goods

The research specialist provided prompt, helpful instructions for accessing ReportLinker's product. He also followed up to make sure everything went smoothly and to ensure an easy transition to the next stage of my research

Jessica P Huffman

Research Associate at
American Transportation Research Institute

Excellent customer service. Very responsive and fast.

Director, Corporate Strategy at
Ingredion

I reached out to ReportLinker for a detailed market study on the Air Treatment industry. The quality of the report, the research specialist’s willingness to solve my queries exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend ReportLinker for in-depth industry information.

Mariana Mendoza

Global Platform Senior Manager at
Whirlpool Corporation

Thanks! I like what you've provided and will certainly come back if I need to do further research works.

Bee Hin Png

CEO at
LDR Pte Ltd

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

Purchase Reports From Reputable Market Research Publishers

Infectious Disease Testing Market 2021: A 74-Country Analysis--Supplier Shares and Strategies, Test Volume and Sales Segment Forecasts, Technology and Instrumentation Review

  • $ 59500
  • Industry report
  • May 2017
  • by Venture Planning Group

This unique 68-country survey from VPGMarketResearch.com provides data and analysis not available from any other published source. The survey is designed to assist diagnostics industry executives, as well ...

Virology and Bacteriology Testing Market 2021: A 68-Country Analysis--Supplier Shares and Strategies, Test Volume and Sales Segment Forecasts, Technology and Instrumentation Review

  • $ 59500
  • Industry report
  • June 2017
  • by Venture Planning Group

This unique 68-country survey from VPGMarketResearch.com provides data and analysis not available from any other published source. The survey is designed to assist diagnostics industry executives, as well ...

Automated Microbiology Market 2021: A 68-Country Analysis--Supplier Shares and Strategies, Volume and Sales Segment Forecasts for 100 Molecular Diagnostic, Microbial Identification

  • $ 52500
  • Industry report
  • June 2017
  • by Venture Planning Group

This new 74-country survey from VPGMarketResearch.com provides granular data and analysis not available from any other published source. The survey is designed to help current suppliers and potential market ...


ref:plp2014

Reportlinker.com © Copyright 2017. All rights reserved.

ReportLinker simplifies how Analysts and Decision Makers get industry data for their business.