1. Market Research
  2. > Construction Market Trends
Europe Testing, Inspection and Certification Market - Growth, Trends, Forecasts (2020 - 2025)

Europe Testing, Inspection and Certification Market - Growth, Trends, Forecasts (2020 - 2025)

  • September 2020
  • 180 pages
  • ID: 5865867
  • Format: PDF
  • Mordor Intelligence LLP
Up to $1050 off Until Nov 30th 2020

Summary

Table of Contents

Search Inside

The European testing, inspection, and certification market was valued at USD 63.45 billion in 2019 and is expected to reach USD 84.48 billion by 2025, registering a CAGR of 5.3%, during the forecast period (2020 - 2025). With the trend of inspection and testing across industries at regular intervals, such as oil and gas becoming a mandate, the TIC services are expected to grow in demand, irrespective of the industrial seasonality.

- In order to adapt to the diverse quality and safety standards of the import destinations, there is an increasing need for effective testing, inspection, and certification market in the region. The TIC market is expected to witness significant growth due to the projected increase in the volume of exports over the forecast period. According to the World Bureau of Metal Statistics, European Union exported 9,469.85 thousand metric tons of unwrought aluminum and alloys in 2019. All metal producing and processing companies must certify their factory production control (FPC) in compliance with the harmonized specification EN 1090-1.
- The majority of oil and gas production in Europe takes place offshore, and there are currently 1,000 operations in European waters. By July 2018, it was made mandatory for all oil companies in the European Union to comply with new EU safety rules on offshore drilling. Thus, independent verification service providers were onboarded by offshore operators to prevent disasters occurring in European waters.
- Safety breaches in recent times, such as Volkswagen, BMW, and Daimler emissions scandal, demonstrate the significance of independent inspection and certification services. They have not only forced tougher regulations and standards but also increased the dependency on the third party for assessment, thus providing scope for independent TIC companies.
- Anticipated increase in the IoT devices in the region is also expected to create opportunities for the TIC companies in the region, considering the presence of several industrial control and smart equipment manufacturers in the region. For instance, in August 2020, Bureau Veritas has been awarded a testing partner for the ioXt Alliance to validate the cybersecurity of IoT devices. ioXtAlliance certifies devices that include cell phones, smart home, lighting controls, IoT Bluetooth, smart retail, portable medical, pet trackers, routers, and automotive technology.
- Owing to the outbreak of the COVID-19, the market witnessed a short-term decline in demand. Though the decline in revenues has been witnessed in the first quarter of 2020, a few prominent players witnessed significantly high demand for the testing, inspection, and certification services form select end-user industries. For instance, in May 2020, Bureau Veritas reported a 900% rise in demand for the remote inspection of offshore assets and equipment, since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Key Market Trends
Consumer Goods & Retail Segment is Expected to Hold Major Market Share

- Due to the growing competition in Europe from new markets and increased demand for quality from consumers, quality assurance and compliance solutions are vital for the consumers. Most of the consumer goods and retail services make use of testing and certification. Consumer products and retail is expected to become the fastest-growing segment, considering the expansion of online retail platforms in the region.
- TIC services offered by the vendors of the market cover the entire consumer products’ value chain from the plan, buy and make, to ship, stock, and sell, in order to enable informed quality and sourcing decisions. The testing services help to verify that the products are safe and conform to different specifications. The advisory and inspection services are useful as they allow customers to meet regulatory requirements.
- In 2019, the production of consumer durables in Europe reached its peak before total production and was also set to be on a slow decline before the onset of the crisis. The development of non-durable consumer goods is convenient as compared to the other industrial groupings. The overall decline in consumer durables for the European region is slower and amounts to only around seven percentage points.
- Consumer products such as personal care and beauty products, softlines and accessories, hard goods, toys, electrical and electronics, and juvenile products are significant fields, which TIC vendors are targeting.
- Organizations based in the UK are adapting to changed rules regarding activities in the area of Testing, Inspection, and Certification (TIC). The United Kingdom is an essential trading partner for many European countries. Brexit is already facing the consequences for companies, which export products and services from Europe to the United Kingdom. The services are tested, inspected, and certified according to EU regulation.

Germany is Expected to Witness Significant Growth

- Germany is the largest economy in Europe and had nearly EUR 3.4 trillion GDP in 2019. The country has a strong foothold of players, such as the Dekra Certification and TUV SUD Group, contributing positively to the market’s growth.
- Out of all the industries, Automotive accounts for 17% of the exported goods. Thus, the Germany government focuses that all vehicles must be routinely tested to ensure that they meet German safety standards. Moreover, the German government’s recent goals, to put six million electric vehicles on the road by 2030 and one million by 2020, are creating additional demand from the automotive sector.
- Considering the growing trends, the government has targeted 55% emissions cut in the oil & gas and automotive sector by 2030 and is planning to introduce carbon pricing for building and transport sector emissions from 2021. Furthermore, Germany’s power sector is one of the primary sources of demand for testing and inspection services after the oil and gas sector.
- Furthermore, the Covid-19 pandemic has further accelerated the market players’ growth opportunities to capture maximum market share. For instance, DEKRA Testing & Certification in Essen is one of two laboratories in Germany that is suitable for testing protective coronavirus masks in accordance with new testing principles. The objective is to make protective masks that could not previously bear the required CE marking available in the fight against coronavirus with targeted tests.

Competitive Landscape
The European testing, inspection, and certification market is highly competitive and consists of several players. The market appears to be moderately concentrated. Startups and incumbent TIC companies with a digital focus are posing tough competition with traditional TIC companies. Existing TIC companies are expected to continue making M&A activities a part of their core strategy over the forecast period, considering the anticipated market growth and increasing globalization.

- Aug 2020 - SGS SA, acquired privately owned Groupe Moreau that operates 22 vehicle inspection services centers in the region, employing 32 people. In 2019, the group performed 47,000 road safety inspections annually. Following this acquisition, SGS VIS France will own 96 VIS centers, employ approximately 220 people, and perform over 360,000 inspections annually.
- Jun 2020 - The Government of Aragon, Spain, awarded Applus Services with a contract to continue the provision of management of technical inspection service of vehicles in the concession centers. The concession enables the company to serve the Spain region to serve for an additional ten years i.e., until 2030. It is thereby enabling the company to project its growth over the years in the European market.

Reasons to Purchase this report:
- The market estimate (ME) sheet in Excel format
- 3 months of analyst support

Get Industry Insights. Simply.

  • Latest reports & slideshows with insights from top research analysts
  • 150+ Million searchable statistics with tables, figures & datasets
  • More than 25,000 trusted sources
15% Off

($3750)

  • Single User License — provides access to the report by one individual.
  • Department License — allows you to share the report with up to 5 users
  • Site License — allows the report to be shared amongst all employees in a defined country
  • Corporate License — allows for complete access, globally.
Ahmad helps you find the right report:
Testimonials

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

We were impressed with the support that ReportLinker’s research specialists’ team provided. The report we purchased was useful and provided exactly what we want.

Category Manager at
Ikea

ReportLinker gave access to reliable and useful data while avoiding dispersing resources and spending too much time on unnecessary research.

Executive Director at
PwC Advisory

The customer service was fast, responsive, and 100% professional in all my dealings (...) If we have more research needs, I'll certainly prioritize working with ReportLinker!

Scott Griffith

Vice President Marketing at
Maurice Sporting Goods

The research specialist provided prompt, helpful instructions for accessing ReportLinker's product. He also followed up to make sure everything went smoothly and to ensure an easy transition to the next stage of my research

Jessica P Huffman

Research Associate at
American Transportation Research Institute

Excellent customer service. Very responsive and fast.

Director, Corporate Strategy at
Ingredion

I reached out to ReportLinker for a detailed market study on the Air Treatment industry. The quality of the report, the research specialist’s willingness to solve my queries exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend ReportLinker for in-depth industry information.

Mariana Mendoza

Global Platform Senior Manager at
Whirlpool Corporation

Thanks! I like what you've provided and will certainly come back if I need to do further research works.

Bee Hin Png

CEO at
LDR Pte Ltd

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

FAQ
  • How we can help
    • I am not sure if the report I am interested in will fulfill my needs. Can you help me?
    • Yes, of course. You can call us at +33(0) 4 37 65 17 03 or drop us an email at researchadvisor@reportlinker.com to let us know more about your requirements.
    • We buy reports often - can ReportLinker get me any benefits?
    • Yes. Set up a call with a Senior Research Advisor to learn more - researchadvisor@reportlinker.com or +33(0) 4 37 65 17 03.
    • I have had negative experiences with market research reports before. How can you avoid this from happening again?
    • We advise all clients to read the TOC and Summary and list your questions so that we can get more insight for you before you make any purchase decision. A research advisor will accompany you so that you can compare samples and reports from different sources, and choose the study that is right for you.

  • Report Delivery
    • How and when I will receive my Report?
    • Most reports are delivered right away in a pdf format, while others are accessed via a secure link and access codes. Do note that sometimes reports are sent within a 12 hour period, depending on the time zones. However, you can contact us to escalate this. Should you need a hard copy, you can check if this option is offered for the particular report, and pay the related fees.
  • Payment conditions
    • What payment methods do you accept?
      1. Credit card : VISA, American Express, Mastercard, or
      2. You can download an invoice to pay by wire transfer, check, or via a Purchase Order from your company, or
      3. You can pay via a Check made out in US Dollars, Euros, or British Pounds for the full amount made payable to ReportLinker
    • What are ReportLinker’s Payment Terms?
    • All payments must normally be submitted within 30 days. However, you can let us know if you need extended time.
    • Are Taxes and duties included?
    • All companies based in France must pay a 20% tax per report. The same applies to all individuals based in the EU. All EU companies must supply their VAT number when purchasing to avoid this charge.
    • I’m not satisfied. Can I be refunded?
    • No. Once your order has been processed and the publisher has received a notification to send you the report, we cannot issue any refund or cancel any order. As these are not ‘traditional’ products that can be returned, reports that are dispatched are considered to be ‘consumed’.
  • User license
    • The license that you should acquire depends on the number of persons that need to access the report. This can range from Single User (only one person will have the right to read or access the report), or Department License (up to 5 persons), to Site License (a group of persons based in the same company location), or Corporate License (the entire company personnel based worldwide). However, as publishers have different terms and conditions, we can look into this for you.
Purchase Reports From Reputable Market Research Publishers

Global Construction Outlook to 2024 (Q3 2020 Update)

  • $ 4950
  • September 2020
  • 86 pages

Global Construction Outlook to 2024 (Q3 2020 Update) Summary The Global construction industry remains under intense stress amid the COVID-19 crisis. Restrictions on economic activity and country-level ...

  • World
  • Construction
  • Industry analysis
  • Construction Output
  • Construction GDP

ref:plp2020

Reportlinker.com © Copyright 2020. All rights reserved.

ReportLinker simplifies how Analysts and Decision Makers get industry data for their business.

Make sure you don’t miss any news and follow us on