1. Market Research
  2. > Construction Market Trends
Global Testing, Inspection, and Certification Market - Growth, Trends, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

Global Testing, Inspection, and Certification Market - Growth, Trends, and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

  • September 2021
  • 241 pages
  • ID: 6155690
  • Format: PDF
  • Mordor Intelligence LLP

Summary

Table of Contents

Search Inside

The Global Testing, Inspection, and Certification market was valued at USD 200.16 billion in 2020, and it is expected to reach USD 286.2 billion by 2026, registering a CAGR of 6.4%, during the period of 2021-2026.? Owing to the significant outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic across the world, the market witnessed a short-term decline in demand. Though the decline in revenues was witnessed in the first quarter of 2020, a few prominent players witnessed significantly high demand for testing, inspection, and certification services from select end-user industries.

Key Highlights
With the advent of new technologies, and the high demand for inspection and testing at regular intervals across a few industries, such as oil and gas, the TIC market is expected to witness growth, irrespective of the industrial seasonality.
There is an increase in the volume of international imports and exports, especially for products, such as food and medical products. The Food and beverage, consumer electronics, agriculture, and automotive (electric vehicles) markets are expected to provide more scope for TIC services.
Additionally, the environment-focused initiatives are driving the adoption of new testing standards, primarily with the aid of new technologies. For instance, the Detox campaigns, such as Greenpeace’s ZDHC (Zero Discharge of Hazardous Chemicals) campaign across Europe and America. This campaign aimed to reduce the usage of harmful chemical substances in the textile industry (the second largest polluter of freshwater worldwide).
Globalization of trade leads to a complex supply chain that can impact product quality. Therefore, TIC services are required at every stage of the supply chain to maintain the same. Due to rapid globalization, privatization of state-owned laboratories, and increasing standards of end-user efficiency, complex supply chains have posed major challenges to the TIC market. Also, the growing adoption of automation technologies across industries makes allied manufacturers transition from legacy systems to smart components and smart machines. Such trends, however, tend to negatively impact the supply chain as more and more stakeholders get involved.
The COVID-19 pandemic has encouraged a shift from traditional on-site testing to remote testing, inspection, and certification. The transition is supported by various organizations, including TIC Council Americas, the Americas’ branch of the TIC Council. The organization addressed the possible queries of industry operators that require TOC services in a white paper on Remote Inspection, titled “What is Remote Inspection and Its Functionalities” and “In What Ways Can Remote Inspection Be Effectively Implemented?” Although remote testing is yet to penetrate and hold a significant market share, the COVID-19 pandemic has positively impacted this segment.

Key Market Trends

Oil and Gas Industry Expected to Hold a Significant Share

With inspection and testing at regular intervals across a few industries, such as oil and gas, becoming mandatory, the TIC services are expected to grow in demand, irrespective of the industrial seasonality.
As a part of technical offerings, TIC vendors offer total quality assurance across various stages of the oil and gas supply chain, which includes testing, inspection, and certification to other services, such as technical, consulting, engineering, and other related services. The industry brings a distinctive set of challenges for operators, as the production and storage are dynamic and depend on market fluctuation.
The Asia Pacific region’s new-built projects dominate the upcoming project’s landscape in the world and are indicative of the need for TIC services throughout the project. Similarly, as of August 2021, ISAT and TWI Southeast Asia partnered to build sustainable skills and provide specialist training in welding, non-destructive testing, painting and coating inspection, and health and safety environment services to East Timorese residents. This is in line with providing residents with trade skills in order to be able to participate and be employed in major oil and gas activities in the country.
In March 2021, Bureau Veritas, a global leader in testing, inspection, and certification (TIC) services, has joined the Waterstof Industrie Cluster, an industrial collaboration that brings together corporations, research institutions, governments, and authorities to work on hydrogen. The cluster that was founded in 2016 is positioning itself as the "voice" of the developing hydrogen industry in Belgium and the Netherlands, encouraging collaboration among its 80 members to stimulate hydrogen projects as a storage medium for renewable energy and its use for zero-emission mobility, heat, or industrial applications.
According to the World Corrosion Organization, corrosion costs the global economy more than USD two trillion every year, and almost 45% of the cost of this corrosion happens exclusively in the oil and gas sector. Real monitoring and continuous maintenance are mandatory in this sector to avoid any interruptions in import and export activities, which govern the global oil equilibrium. These factors are creating greater opportunities in this market.

Asia Pacific Holds Largest Market Share

The Asia Pacific region is anticipated to hold a major share due to emerging markets such as China, India, Japan, and South Korea, which have become attractive through the development of indigenous industries and subsequent acceleration in exports, the introduction of stringent standards, and rapid urbanization.
The emerging markets, such as China, have become attractive spots through the development of indigenous industries and subsequent acceleration in exports, the introduction of stringent standards, and rapid urbanization.
China’s five-year plan for 2016–2020 and the Made in China 2025 initiative have identified 5G as an emerging industry. It offers opportunities for Chinese companies to become more competitive and innovative in the global market and prevent low-quality and counterfeit goods from entering the market, which the attainment of domain-specific certifications can achieve.?
Japan has been witnessing a significant partnership and collaboration strategy to expand the TIC market. For instance, in January 2020, TÜV SÜD and IX Wind signed a memorandum of understanding for the cooperation in various services for the wind power industry in Taiwan and Japan. The collaboration between IX Wind and TÜV SÜD has focused on the performance improvement and inspections of WTG and the full scope of supply quality management and control.
The companies in Japan have to pass through various approvals for the goods imported. Some of them include Optional S Mark Certification, SG Seal of Safety Approval for Mechanical Products, and DENAN & PSE Approval.
On the manufacturing front, the South Korean government is planning to turn the nation’s robotics technology into a USD 25 million industry, with a focus on becoming the fourth-largest player by 2023. This is fostering the emergence of robotic companies. However, companies need to acquire industrial robot product safety certification based on international and local standards to bring such robots into the manufacturing and service sector.
Furthermore, South Korea is home to semiconductor giants, such as Samsung Electronics and SK Hynix. In May 2021, the South Korean government planned an investment of USD 451 billion on domestic semiconductor production over the next decade.

Competitive Landscape

The Testing, Inspection, and Certification Market is highly competitive and consists of several major players. Although the market is fragmented, the market is dominated by three large players, namely, SGS, Bureau Veritas, and Intertek (approximately 25% of the total market share), and the top 10 players accounted for less than 40% of the TIC market. Enterprises across industries, like life sciences, utilities, and the public sector, are still dependent on in-house TIC services. These companies are leveraging on strategic collaborative initiatives to increase their market share and increase their profitability.

September 2021 - Bureau Veritas acquired AET France, a laboratory testing, product development, and sustainability testing company. AET France specializes in consumer experience testing, employing collaborative robotics solutions and completely automated aging processes for life testing, and has a deep understanding of human-machine interfaces and ergonomics.
September 2021 - UL Group announced the addition of a cable fire safety and performance laboratory to its existing location in Abu Dhabi. The expanded facility, which is located in the Industrial City of Abu Dhabi (ICAD), provides access to a local fire safety laboratory for manufacturers, brands, and suppliers of electrical and optical cables and busways from across the Middle East.

Additional Benefits:

The market estimate (ME) sheet in Excel format
3 months of analyst support

Get Industry Insights. Simply.

  • Latest reports & slideshows with insights from top research analysts
  • 150+ Million searchable statistics with tables, figures & datasets
  • More than 25,000 trusted sources
  • Single User License — provides access to the report by one individual.
  • Department License — allows you to share the report with up to 5 users
  • Site License — allows the report to be shared amongst all employees in a defined country
  • Corporate License — allows for complete access, globally.

ReportLinker may already be registered as a supplier with your company. If you want to Order by PO, check with us first and we'll let you know if we are a registered supplier and what the vendor number is. Otherwise, we'll provide you with the necessary information to register ReportLinker as a vendor.

Ahmad helps you find the right report:
Testimonials

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

We were impressed with the support that ReportLinker’s research specialists’ team provided. The report we purchased was useful and provided exactly what we want.

Category Manager at
Ikea

ReportLinker gave access to reliable and useful data while avoiding dispersing resources and spending too much time on unnecessary research.

Executive Director at
PwC Advisory

The customer service was fast, responsive, and 100% professional in all my dealings (...) If we have more research needs, I'll certainly prioritize working with ReportLinker!

Scott Griffith

Vice President Marketing at
Maurice Sporting Goods

The research specialist provided prompt, helpful instructions for accessing ReportLinker's product. He also followed up to make sure everything went smoothly and to ensure an easy transition to the next stage of my research

Jessica P Huffman

Research Associate at
American Transportation Research Institute

Excellent customer service. Very responsive and fast.

Director, Corporate Strategy at
Ingredion

I reached out to ReportLinker for a detailed market study on the Air Treatment industry. The quality of the report, the research specialist’s willingness to solve my queries exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend ReportLinker for in-depth industry information.

Mariana Mendoza

Global Platform Senior Manager at
Whirlpool Corporation

Thanks! I like what you've provided and will certainly come back if I need to do further research works.

Bee Hin Png

CEO at
LDR Pte Ltd

The research specialist advised us on the best content for our needs and provided a great report and follow-up, thanks very much we shall look at ReportLinker in the future.

Kate Merrick

Global Marketing Manager at
Eurotherm by Schneider Electric

FAQ
  • How we can help
    • I am not sure if the report I am interested in will fulfill my needs. Can you help me?
    • Yes, of course. You can call us at +33(0) 4 37 65 17 03 or drop us an email at [email protected] to let us know more about your requirements.
    • We buy reports often - can ReportLinker get me any benefits?
    • Yes. Set up a call with a Senior Research Advisor to learn more - [email protected] or +33(0) 4 37 65 17 03.
    • I have had negative experiences with market research reports before. How can you avoid this from happening again?
    • We advise all clients to read the TOC and Summary and list your questions so that we can get more insight for you before you make any purchase decision. A research advisor will accompany you so that you can compare samples and reports from different sources, and choose the study that is right for you.

  • Report Delivery
    • How and when I will receive my Report?
    • Most reports are delivered right away in a pdf format, while others are accessed via a secure link and access codes. Do note that sometimes reports are sent within a 12 hour period, depending on the time zones. However, you can contact us to escalate this. Should you need a hard copy, you can check if this option is offered for the particular report, and pay the related fees.
  • Payment conditions
    • What payment methods do you accept?
      1. Credit card : VISA, American Express, Mastercard, or
      2. You can download an invoice to pay by wire transfer, check, or via a Purchase Order from your company, or
      3. You can pay via a Check made out in US Dollars, Euros, or British Pounds for the full amount made payable to ReportLinker
    • What are ReportLinker’s Payment Terms?
    • All payments must normally be submitted within 30 days. However, you can let us know if you need extended time.
    • Are Taxes and duties included?
    • All companies based in France must pay a 20% tax per report. The same applies to all individuals based in the EU. All EU companies must supply their VAT number when purchasing to avoid this charge.
    • I’m not satisfied. Can I be refunded?
    • No. Once your order has been processed and the publisher has received a notification to send you the report, we cannot issue any refund or cancel any order. As these are not ‘traditional’ products that can be returned, reports that are dispatched are considered to be ‘consumed’.
  • User license
    • The license that you should acquire depends on the number of persons that need to access the report. This can range from Single User (only one person will have the right to read or access the report), or Department License (up to 5 persons), to Site License (a group of persons based in the same company location), or Corporate License (the entire company personnel based worldwide). However, as publishers have different terms and conditions, we can look into this for you.
Purchase Reports From Reputable Market Research Publishers

Asia Pacific Testing, Inspection, and Certification Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact and Forecasts (2021 - 2026)

  • $ 3750
  • September 2021
  • 166 pages

The Asia Pacific Testing, Inspection, and Certification Market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 6.3% during the forecast period from 2021 to 2026. The COVID-19 pandemic disrupted the manufacturing supply ...

  • APAC
  • Construction
  • Medical Device
  • Industry analysis
  • Food Sales
  • Gross Domestic Product

ref:plp2021

Reportlinker.com © Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.

ReportLinker simplifies how Analysts and Decision Makers get industry data for their business.

Make sure you don’t miss any news and follow us on